Wisconsin to D.C.

8:36am on June 7th, 2016.

Most Tuesday mornings I’m either still in bed or getting ready for work. Not this time though, no this time the sky isn’t the limit because I’m in it. Having to get up before the sun is even peeking over the horizon is not something I enjoy doing. I like to sleep. Being thousands of feet in the air the realization hits me. This plane is taking me to the east coast with my best friend. No parents are with us. I’ve gone on planes before, I’ve gotten up early to catch a flight. It’s not as grueling this time though, because I’m about to embark on a 4 day journey in a new city with some pretty amazing people.

12:05pm on June 7th, 2016. 

We get picked up at the airport after a short flight that was about two hours long. What’s the first thing I notice? It’s hot. Now, being from the state of Wisconsin hasn’t prepared me enough. While we get warm weather, especially this summer so far, we don’t get the almost 100 degrees and humid. No thanks. Spending this trip with some family members, the first day is a lot calmer then the ones to come. We stopped at an Italian restaurant, one I can’t remember the name of. I do remember though, that the food was fantastic. The day continued with a short 15 minute drive to the Chesapeake Bay, something that was absolutely breathtaking to view as the storms rolled in. We concluded the night after eating dinner with an intense game of Monopoly, my favorite.


8:40am on June 8th, 2016. 

Bright and early once again. We head out from the small city in Maryland that resides a mere 30 minutes out from our destination, minus the traffic of course. The place we’re going to is sometimes known as the heart of the United States, Washington D.C. My best friend and I are buzzing with excitement and the idea of exploring a city that is an unknown area to the both of us.


D.C. is a city that could be explored for a whole week and you still wouldn’t hit every museum. With all of the hidden nooks and crannies it’s an adventure waiting to happen. We only had one day.

Throughout the early hours of the day we walked from one end of the National Mall to the other. We saw the Washington monument, everyone else saw my back and stomach as the wind blew up and loose fit top. My personal favorite had to be seeing Lincoln’s memorial. I had to take a horrible selfie of course. Noon came around along with the growling of our stomachs so what better place to go than to Noodles and Co after taking a stop at the famous White House.

Soon enough we’ve finished eating and next thing you know we are in an Uber that’s taking us to the destination we have been looking forward to for the entirety of the trip. Located in a suburb east of D.C. is a tiny bar that will be featuring a band that we both love, Before You Exit.

We arrive and at the same time the main act seem to be as well. We chat for a few minutes and take pictures. Not long after I meet some new people while standing in line to get int the venue and create friendships. The most beautiful thing is coming to the realization of how incredible music is. I’ve flown across the country with my best friend who I met through this very band and along the way I’m creating friendships that are rooted from our love of the same thing. The night is filled with laughs, memories, and of course great music. While I’m doing a whole separate review on this band, I’m still going to encourage you here to give this band a listen. It’s worth it. While the night had to fade and come to a close, the memories surely won’t.

12:19pm on June 9th, 2016

Long risen is the sun along with breakfast. After having a jam packed day the day before we decide to have a late start. In the pits of our stomach excitement is bubbling. Today’s adventure is to the National Zoo.

It’s a long, grueling day filled with seeing animals I haven’t seen in my life unless they were hiding behind a computer screen. As we leave the cats we leisurely walk past the Panda bears. They are surely the highlight of our day and as Cassie starts playing the viral song titled “Panda” laughter fills the air, traveling down the path past pedestrians looking on to see what could possibly be so funny.


2:10pm on June 10th, 2016

Lazy. The word that could describe us perfectly for the last full day of our trip. After having come home the night before from being at the Zoo for a good four hours, we were wiped out. We take a trip back to the beach after stopping by a cute shop and grabbing ourselves some ice cream. Strolling on the pier along the ocean is soothing to the core, so that’s what we did.

We spend the evening watching movies such as Independence Day and lounging around. As the night comes to a close, tragic news hits about an artist that opened up for Before You Exit just a few days earlier. Christina Grimmie was at their show in Orlando when she was shot, having her life taken away. Now I had doubts as to whether this should be brought up since it’s something that saddens me to the core. Christina was one of the nicest people I had the chance to meet, with an incredible voice to match. Paying tribute to her is something I can do to keep her name living on. I encourage you to listen to her music and to keep her legacy alive, you surely wouldn’t regret it.


4:00am on June 11th, 2016

After a night filled with tears and certainly no sleep we head to the airport to make the journey home. With a flight leaving so early we try to make the best of the hour and a half flight and

This trip taught me a lot, not only blessing me with the incredible friendships, it gave me the opportunity to travel without parents and to grow as an adult. Laughter was loud, tears present, but it was all worth it.

Leave a Reply

